Author Topic: Graphics Hacking  (Read 63792 times)

justin3009

  • Fan Project Leader
  • God of War (+3000)
  • *
  • Posts: 3296
    • View Profile
Re: Graphics Hacking
« Reply #225 on: February 16, 2009, 07:16:24 pm »
I'm pretty certain those "unused" palettes are unused.  I've gone through the entire Schala Project with a custom palette on Magus and there has been no side effect at all.

FaustWolf

  • Guru of Time Emeritus
  • Arbiter (+8000)
  • *
  • Posts: 8972
  • Fan Power Advocate
    • View Profile
Re: Graphics Hacking
« Reply #226 on: February 16, 2009, 07:19:18 pm »
Okay, I'm holding off on any sprite insertion but I'll do the necessary research tonight and code up sprite assembly frames and animation data, which I can just do in a hex editor and save it for later insertion.

Agent 12

  • Moderator
  • Zurvan Surfer (+2500)
  • *
  • Posts: 2572
    • View Profile
Re: Graphics Hacking
« Reply #227 on: February 16, 2009, 07:21:04 pm »
we can still insert the other sprites chrono'99 has mentioned?

--JP

Vehek

  • Errare Explorer (+1500)
  • *
  • Posts: 1761
    • View Profile
Re: Graphics Hacking
« Reply #228 on: February 16, 2009, 09:01:44 pm »
(Replying to stuff from the "Another place to find the ROM" thread)
The prehistory old dude has a graphics pack of length 0x5CA, whereas the graphics pack used for middle ages soldiers (not to be confused with Knights) and the like is 0x886.
Actually, it compresses back to 0x6DD bytes for me. Of course, that's still larger than the original compressed size.

EDIT: Waitaminute, why is Porre Sgt any different from GI Jogger or the medieval soldiers? Can we just repalette the medieval soldier and use {21} Prehistory Old Man's sprite header? I guess that's what '99 had in mind, maybe.
Porre Sergeant is just a palette swap. But I think the intent was to quickly change most of the Porre soldiers over to that palette.

FaustWolf

  • Guru of Time Emeritus
  • Arbiter (+8000)
  • *
  • Posts: 8972
  • Fan Power Advocate
    • View Profile
Re: Graphics Hacking
« Reply #229 on: February 16, 2009, 09:08:09 pm »
I was confused by this:

Quote from: Chrono'99
There are currently two sprites that we can do:


Porre Private -> replaces {21} Prehistory Old Man. No sprite assembly is needed; this can just be pasted to 1930E7 (I think) and the palette of the old man be changed accordingly.


Do we need to actually insert that graphics pack? Wouldn't that graphics pack already exist under "GI Jogger," who in turn doubles as the medieval Guardian soldier in the normal CT ROM? Then all we'd have to worry about is the palettes. However, I'm unsure whether there's a graphical distinction between Porre Sgt and Porre Pvt other than the palette...

Vehek

  • Errare Explorer (+1500)
  • *
  • Posts: 1761
    • View Profile
Re: Graphics Hacking
« Reply #230 on: February 16, 2009, 09:10:30 pm »
See here.
Porre Private has a different armor.

I was originally going to point this out, but then I saw that you said "Sgt" rather than "Pvt".
« Last Edit: February 16, 2009, 09:12:21 pm by Vehek »

FaustWolf

  • Guru of Time Emeritus
  • Arbiter (+8000)
  • *
  • Posts: 8972
  • Fan Power Advocate
    • View Profile
Re: Graphics Hacking
« Reply #231 on: February 16, 2009, 09:14:34 pm »
Ahaaa, okay.  The 0x6DD compressed graphics pack corresponds to the Porre Pvt then Vehek? If that's the case, I'll hold off, as I'd need to use blank space just like with Sorin.

FaustWolf

  • Guru of Time Emeritus
  • Arbiter (+8000)
  • *
  • Posts: 8972
  • Fan Power Advocate
    • View Profile
Re: Graphics Hacking
« Reply #232 on: February 18, 2009, 01:40:38 am »
Tweaked palette for the Zeal overworld, both in-game and with Temporal Flux. Most colors need to be linked between the clouds and the stars, so I can't dim the clouds further without the stars being detrimentally affected.

I think it might look just right with a lighter overlay; can someone tell me how to do that myself or point out an already existing guide for this sort of thing?
« Last Edit: February 18, 2009, 01:42:35 am by FaustWolf »

utunnels

  • Guru of Reason Emeritus
  • Zurvan Surfer (+2500)
  • *
  • Posts: 2797
    • View Profile
Re: Graphics Hacking
« Reply #233 on: February 18, 2009, 02:11:00 am »
The lower one looks dreamy.

FaustWolf

  • Guru of Time Emeritus
  • Arbiter (+8000)
  • *
  • Posts: 8972
  • Fan Power Advocate
    • View Profile
Re: Graphics Hacking
« Reply #234 on: February 18, 2009, 02:17:56 am »
That's what it would theoretically look like in-game without the overlay. ZeaLitY, what's your verdict?

nightmare975

  • Architect of Kajar
  • God of War (+3000)
  • *
  • Posts: 3263
    • View Profile
Re: Graphics Hacking
« Reply #235 on: February 18, 2009, 02:25:53 am »
I say to drop the overlay, it looks awesome without it.

utunnels

  • Guru of Reason Emeritus
  • Zurvan Surfer (+2500)
  • *
  • Posts: 2797
    • View Profile
Re: Graphics Hacking
« Reply #236 on: February 18, 2009, 02:29:46 am »
If not the islands in the lower one look exactly the same as the daylight version...

Chrono'99

  • Moderator
  • God of War (+3000)
  • *
  • Posts: 3605
    • View Profile
Re: Graphics Hacking
« Reply #237 on: February 18, 2009, 02:34:26 am »
An overlay of some sort is mandatory on the overworld, because there is one in the locations. Granted, the one in the locations can be darker since it's indoor, but still the overworld has to have a slight tinge of blue to be consistent with it.

I haven't had the time to tweak it yesterday, but if you want to try FaustWolf the overlay command is in the overworld events. Information here:
http://www.chronocompendium.com/Forums/index.php/topic,4743.msg83962.html#msg83962

ZeaLitY

  • Entity
  • End of Timer (+10000)
  • *
  • Posts: 10797
  • Spring Breeze Dancin'
    • View Profile
    • My Compendium Staff Profile
Re: Graphics Hacking
« Reply #238 on: February 18, 2009, 02:58:03 am »
As low as we can get it, then.

FaustWolf

  • Guru of Time Emeritus
  • Arbiter (+8000)
  • *
  • Posts: 8972
  • Fan Power Advocate
    • View Profile
Re: Graphics Hacking
« Reply #239 on: February 18, 2009, 02:59:20 am »
Thanks 99, I'll try this out and report back. I had no idea we could actually control the RGB values of the overlay.